The Trollercoaster

William Vincent Carleton
4 min readJan 20, 2022
The butt of all jokes is here again today, with Uranus. Haha. Careful, he’s apparently not in the best mood. Photo by author.

I’m just getting trolled by my children today. They do that on video call from time to time. They’ll just troll me and show me things over and over like hundreds of Pokémon cards, and I’m thinking to myself, how did my children get all of these valuable cards, and they tell me about how they tricked their friends into giving them away willingly, and it took me back to the days when I was in elementary school and I gave all of my Garbage Pail Kid first edition cards to the pretty girl in class, (including Blasted Billy) and all my friends called me stupid, and I told them to shut up. Anyway, the objective with my children is to listen to their stories, and keep smiling and laughing, and never stop. So they keep on trolling me. I must sound like a looney to the rest of the world, and I don’t care. I love it. This is my favorite game. My daughter and son figuring out who can outdo the other. Full competition mode. And so they are trying to get their friends to give up their Pokémon cards through any sort of coercion — I’m sure I’ve only heard the surface of their maniacal plans to be in the possession of every Pokémon card in school, and only give access through rental only, and start a rental service, where if they have to go to collections, they embarrass the student on the playground. I mean, this is a detailed operation, and I’m being shown all of these cards by my daughter, and like I was eluding to before, I didn’t remember buying her all of those rare cards. And I’m thinking — has she become the girl that boys give everything to because they think she is pretty? I think she might be becoming that girl now, and this is terrifying.

Anyway, it leads to attempts to bring the humor out of all of it. Hopefully that is seen when you read the pages, especially at the end. The way it should be.

Here are your pages for today. All time-stamped. This session took me approximately two hours. It was a beautiful session of writing. Anytime I get to experience time with family, it is joyful. So there was a lot of joking going on between the characters, and the reins get pulled in at the end, and hopefully there’s a lesson learned. This is all part of the plan in a given day’s writing. Full steam ahead, no going back, just give all you got.

The images below are scans of the author’s typewritten pages from Wednesday, January 19th, 2022. These pages are archived by date, page number and time in the top-left, all characters printed on Southworth archive quality paper. Which is low-acid, watermarked, and date coded to confirm when the paper was printed by the manufacturer.

--

--