Smith’s Tarot

Book #5 of 2022 and Tarot deck illustrated from scratch.

William Vincent Carleton
3 min readFeb 11, 2022
El Brujo. By author.

The following project is dedicated to Pamela “Pixie” Colman Smith

In honor of Pixie’s original illustrations, I draw this Tarot deck in black and white. It is the way she used to teach Tarot to women.

They‘d start by drawing their own deck. Embedding the divine feminine into the cards. That is what I am doing now. I am not an illustrator. I must become one. I have no choice.

I must create 22 Major Arcana, and then move on to the 55 Minor Arcana, with a Carte Blanche to round the deck out at 78 cards total. It must be designed to serve the highest good of all involved. No exceptions.

I do not know how long this will take. It will get done eventually. Because of the amount of illustrations needed, and the time it takes to do even one of them, this book will likely be the only one I work on for the month of February, and perhaps even March.

If you would like to be a part of the book, just leave a comment and I’ll figure out how to put you in.

I will be doing daily readings of the Tarot so that you can become familiar with the cards. This will come in addition to my daily illustrations. I’m promising at least one illustration per day.

Looking forward to this!

-W.V.Carleton

(The images below are scans of the author’s typewritten pages and illustrations. Archived by date and page number in the top-left. Illustrations, when presented, are drawn using Blackwing pencils. All photos, unless indicated, are by the author. All typewriting gets printed on Southworth archive quality paper using a Smith-Corona Silent-Super typewriter from the 1950s. The paper is low-acid, watermarked, and date coded for authentication purposes.)

A Commanding Heart. By author.
The High Priestess. By author.
The High Priestess Shall Guide You. By author.
She is Most Powerful. By author.
Tarot Today. By author.

--

--